قدم طلبك الآن

ديبورا سبار  

ديبورا سبار  

الرئيسة الفخرية، كلية بارنارد   

ديبورا سبار هي أستاذة إدارة الأعمال لدرجة الماجستير للدفعة 1952 في كلية الأعمال في جامعة هارفارد. يركز بحثها الحالي على قضايا النوع الاجتماعي والتقانة، والتفاعل بين التغيير التقني والبنى الاجتماعية الأوسع. تتناول سبار بعض هذه القضايا في كتابها القادم “العذراء والمحراث: كيف تحدد التقانة كيف نعمل، ونرتبط، ونتزوج، ونحب (The Virgin and the Plow: How Technology Shapes How We Work, Mate, Marry, and Love) 

 

عملت سبار كرئيسة لكلية بارنارد من عام 2008 إلى عام 2017، وكرئيس ومدير تنفيذي لمركز لينكولن للفنون المسرحية من عام 2017 إلى عام 2018. وخلال فترة عملها في بارنارد، قادت سبار مبادرات لتسليط الضوء على القيادة النسائية والتقدم، بما في ذلك إنشاء مركز أثينا لدراسات القيادة وتطوير سلسلة ندوة بارنارد العالمية. 

 

قبل انضمامها إلى كلية بارنارد قضت سبعة عشر عاما ضمن هيئة تدريس كلية الأعمال في جامعة هارفارد كأستاذة (the Spangler Family Professor) إضافة إلى مساعد عميد أول لشؤون أبحاث وتطوير الهيئة التدريسية. هي كاتبة غزيرة الإنتاج، تتضمن كتبها، “التحكم بالأمواج: دورات الاكتشاف، والفوضى، والثروة من البوصلة إلى الإنترنت” (2001)، “تجارة الأطفال” (2006)، “ونساء خارقات: الجنس، والسلطة، والبحث عن الكمال (2013)”. 

 

إن سبار عضوة في أكاديمية الفنون والعلوم وتعمل كمديرة لشركة “Value Retail LLC” و”Thermo Fisher Scientific” إضافة إلى كونها أمينا لمعهد هوارد هيوز الطبي. نالت سبار درجة الدكتوراه في الحكومة من جامعة هارفارد وشهادة البكالوريوس من كلية الخدمة الخارجية في جامعة جورجتاون. 
هي وزوجها ميلتوس كاتوميريس والدان لثلاثة أبناء يافعين.

Apply

Debora Spar

President Emerita, Barnard College

Debora Spar is the MBA Class of 1952 Professor of Business Administration at Harvard Business School. Her current research focuses on issues of gender and technology, and the interplay between technological change and broader social structures. Spar tackles some of these issues in her forthcoming book The Virgin and the Plow: How Technology Shapes How We Work, Mate, Marry, and Love.

 

Spar served as the President of Barnard College from 2008 to 2017, and as President and CEO of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts from 2017 to 2018. During her tenure at Barnard, Spar led initiatives to highlight women’s leadership and advancement, including the creation of the Athena Center for Leadership Studies and the development of Barnard’s Global Symposium series.

 

Before joining Barnard, Spar spent 17 years on the HBS faculty as the Spangler Family Professor as well as Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Research and Development. A prolific writer, Spar’s books include Ruling the Waves: Cycles of Discovery, Chaos, and Wealth from the Compass to the Internet (2001), The Baby Business (2006), and Wonder Women: Sex, Power, and the Quest for Perfection (2013).

 

Spar is a member of the Academy of Arts and Sciences and serves as a director of Value Retail LLC and Thermo Fisher Scientific, as well as a trustee of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Spar earned her Ph.D. in Government from Harvard University and her B.S. from Georgetown University’s School of Foreign Service.
She and her husband, Miltos Catomeris, are the parents of three grown children.