الرئيس الفخري جون سيكستون، رئيس المجلس

الرئيس الفخري جون سيكستون، رئيس المجلس 

جامعة نيويورك 

الرئيس الفخري جون سيكستون هو عضو في مجلس رئاسة جامعة UoPeople. كان الرئيس الخامس عشر لجامعة نيويورك، إضافة إلى كونه أستاذا في القانون (the Benjamin Butler Professor of Law) والعميد الفخري لكلية الحقوق في جامعة نيويورك، حيث عمل كعميد مدة 14 عاما. انضم إلى أعضاء هيئة التدريس في كلية الحقوق في جامعة نيويورك عام 1981، وتمت تسميته كعميد للكلية عام 1988، وعُيّن رئيسا لجامعة نيويورك عام 2001. 

  

الرئيس الفخري سيكستون هو رئيس المجلس الأمريكي للتعليم، ورئيس أكاديمية نيويورك للعلوم والرئيس السابق مباشرة للجنة الكليات والجامعات المستقلة في نيويورك. وهو زميل في الأكاديمية الأمريكية للفنون والعلوم، وعضو في مجلس العلاقات الخارجية، وعضو سابق في اللجنة التنفيذية لاتحاد الجامعات الأمريكية. وقد شغل منصب رئيس مجلس إدارة بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي في نيويورك (2003-2006) ورئيس مجلس رؤساء أنظمة الاحتياطي الفيدرالي (2006). شغل منصب عضو مجلس إدارة الرابطة الوطنية لسماسرة الأوراق المالية (1996-1998)، وكان الرئيس المؤسس لمجلس تسوية المنازعات في NASD (2000  2002). كما أنه عضو في مجلس معهد التعليم الدولي. وبينما كان عميد كلية الحقوق، كان رئيسا لجمعية كليات الحقوق الأمريكية. 

 

حصل الرئيس الفخري سيكستون على درجة البكالوريوس في التاريخ (1963) من كلية فوردهام؛ وماجستير في مقارنة الأديان (1965) ودكتوراه في تاريخ الدين الأمريكي (1978) من جامعة فوردهام؛ ودكتوراه بامتياز مع مرتبة الشرف في القانون (1979) من كلية الحقوق في جامعة هارفارد. 

 

وهو مؤلف كتاب القضايا الرائد في الدولة بشأن الإجراءات المدنية، وهو كذلك مؤلف كتاب “إعادة تعريف دور المحكمة العليا: نظرية إدارة نظام المحاكم الفيدرالية (معالجة لعملية اختيار قضايا المحكمة العليا)” بالإضافة إلى العديد من الكتب الأخرى والكثير من الفصول والمقالات وملخصات المحكمة العليا. 

 

وهو حاصل على درجات فخرية من جامعة فوردهام، وكلية القديس فرانسيس، وجامعة القديس جون، وكلية القديس جوزيف، وجامعة روتشستر، وجامعة كاثوليك لوفين. كرّس الطلاب المحررون للمسح السنوي لجامعة نيويورك للقانون الأمريكي المجلد 60 على شرفه.  تمت تسميته من قبل جامعة إيموري “مدرب ممتاز لمناظرة المدرسة الثانوية في السنوات الخمسين الأخيرة” للعمل الذي قام به بين عامي 1960-1975. تم تكريمه في مأدبة مجلة هارفارد للقانون Harvard Law Review السنوية، وتمت تسميته “خريج العام” في فوردهام وفي مدرسته الثانوية Brooklyn Prep. في تموز / يوليو 2008، نال لقب حامل وسام الشرف (Chevalier de la Legion d’Honneur)، الدرجة الوطنية لرابطة الشرف الفرنسية. 

 

قبل مجيئه إلى جامعة نيويورك، عمل الرئيس الفخري سيكستون كاتبا قانونيا لرئيس المحكمة العليا وارن برجر من المحكمة العليا للولايات المتحدة (1980-1981)، وللقاضيين ديفيد بازيلون وهارولد ليفينثال من محكمة الاستئناف في الولايات المتحدة (1979-1980). عمل كمشرف خاص لمدة عشر سنوات (1983-1993) للإشراف على الإجراءات التمهيدية في دعوى قناة لاف          (Love Canal Litigation). بين عامي 1966-1975، كان أستاذ الدين في كلية القديس فرنسيس في بروكلين، حيث كان رئيس قسم بين عامي 1970-1975. إن الرئيس الفخري سيكستون متحمس للتدريس؛ في الواقع، قد يكون رئيس الجامعة الوحيد الذي يدرّس جدولا كاملا للكلية على الأقل. في العام الدراسي 2010-2011، قام بتدريس أربع مساقات كاملة.

Apply

President Emeritus John Sexton, Chairman

New York University

President Emeritus John Sexton is a member of UoPeople’s President's Council. He was the fifteenth President of New York University, as well as the Benjamin Butler Professor of Law and NYU Law School's Dean Emeritus, having served as Dean for 14 years. He joined NYU’s Law School's faculty in 1981, was named the School's Dean in 1988, and was designated NYU’s President in 2001.

 

President Emeritus Sexton is Chair of the American Council on Education, Chair of the New York Academy of Sciences and immediate past Chair of the Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities of New York. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, and a past member of the Executive Committee of the Association of American Universities. He has served as the Chairman of the Board of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York (2003-2006) and Chair of the Federal Reserve Systems Council of Chairs (2006). He served as a Board Member for the National Association of Securities Dealers (1996-1998), and was Founding Chair of the Board of NASD Dispute Resolution (2000-2002). He also serves on the Board of the Institute of International Education. While Dean of the Law School he was President of the Association of American Law Schools.

 

President Emeritus Sexton received a B.A. in History (1963) from Fordham College; an M.A. in Comparative Religion (1965) and a Ph.D. in History of American Religion (1978) Fordham University; and a J.D. magna cum laude (1979) from Harvard Law School.

 

He is an author of the nation's leading casebook on Civil Procedure. He also is the author of Redefining the Supreme Court's Role: A Theory of Managing the Federal Court System (a treatment of the Supreme Court's case selection process) in addition to several other books, numerous chapters, articles and Supreme Court briefs.

 

He holds honorary degrees from Fordham University, Saint Francis College, Saint John's University, Saint Joseph's College, University of Rochester and Katholieke Universiteit Leuven. The student editors of NYU's Annual Survey of American Law dedicated their Volume 60 in his honor. He was named by Emory University "Outstanding High School Debate Coach of the Last 50 Years" for work he did from 1960-1975. He has been honored at the Harvard Law Review Annual Banquet, and has been named "Alumnus of the Year" both at Fordham and at his high school, Brooklyn Prep. In July 2008 he was named a Chevalier de la Légion d'Honneur, the national order of the Legion of Honor of France.

 

Before coming to NYU, President Emeritus Sexton served as Law Clerk to Chief Justice Warren Burger of the United States Supreme Court (1980-1981), and to Judges David Bazelon and Harold Leventhal of the United States Court of Appeals (1979-1980). For ten years (1983-1993), he served as Special Master Supervising Pretrial Proceedings in the Love Canal Litigation. From 1966 - 1975, he was a Professor of Religion at Saint Francis College in Brooklyn, where he was Department Chair from 1970-1975. President Emeritus Sexton is passionate about teaching; indeed, he may be the only university president who teaches at least a full faculty schedule. In Academic Year 2010-2011, he taught four full courses.

SEE WHAT UOPEOPLE CAN DO FOR YOU!