قدم طلبك الآن

الرئيس الفخري تورستين ن. ويزل  

الرئيس الفخري تورستين ن. ويزل  

جامعة روكفيلر 

د. تورستين ن. ويزل هو عضو في مجلس رئاسة جامعة UoPeople. وهو رئيس مجلس محافظي معهد أوكيناوا للعلوم والتكنولوجيا في اليابان ورئيس فخري لجامعة روكفلر.  شارك الدكتور ويزل جائزة نوبل في علم وظائف الأعضاء أو الطب مع ديفيد هوبيل عام 1981 لاكتشافاتهما المتعلقة بمعالجة المعلومات في النظام البصري.  حصل الدكتور ويزل أيضا على الميدالية الوطنية الأمريكية للعلوم لعام 2005. 

 

عمل الدكتور ويزل كرئيس لقسم علم الأعصاب في كلية الطب في جامعة هارفارد من عام 1973 إلى عام 1982. وتمت تسميته في عام 1983، كأستاذ (Vincent and Brooke Astor Professor) ورئيس مختبر علم الأعصاب في جامعة روكفلر.  كان رئيسا لجامعة روكفلر من عام 1991 إلى عام 1998.  منذ تقاعده من منصبه كرئيس لجامعة روكفلر في عام 1998، حول اهتمامه إلى الدفاع عن العلم دوليا وكرس جهوده لبرامج العلماء الشباب. 

 

يشغل دكتور ويزل منذ فترة طويلة منصب رئيس اللجنة الاستشارية العلمية لبرنامج علماء بيو (Pew Scholars)،  كما ساعد في بدء برنامج زمالة أمريكا اللاتينية في العلوم الطبية الحيوية. كان رئيسا لمجلس محافظي أكاديمية نيويورك للعلوم من بين عامي 2000 و2006. وشغل بين عامي 2000 و2009 منصب الأمين العام لبرنامج العلوم البشرية الرائدة، الذي تم إنشاؤه لدعم البحوث الأساسية الدولية والمبتكرة والمتعددة التخصصات في علوم الحياة.  

 

كما عمل د. ويزل كثيرا كمدافع عالمي عن حقوق الإنسان، وهو عضو مؤسس في شبكة الأكاديميات والجمعيات العلمية الدولية لحقوق الإنسان. حصل عام 2005 على وسام ديفيد رال من معهد الطب لخدمته بين عامي 1994-2004 كرئيس للجنة حقوق الإنسان في أكاديميات العلوم الوطنية. 

 

يشغل الدكتور ويزل حاليا منصب المدير المشارك لمركز شيلبي وايت وليون ليفي للعقل والدماغ والسلوك في جامعة روكفلر، وعضو مجلس إدارة مستشفى الجراحة الخاصة. وبصفته أستاذا زائرا في معهد كارولينسكا منذ عام 2009، وهو كذلك مستشار لأكاديمية الشباب السويدية (the Young Academy of Sweden)، ويستمر في العمل كمستشار لمعاهد البحث في الصين والهند والبرازيل وإيطاليا والولايات المتحدة، حيث يساعد بشكل أساسي على إيجاد فرص للعلماء الشباب لإجراء أبحاث مستقلة.

Apply

President Emeritus Torsten N. Wiesel

The Rockefeller University

Dr. Torsten N. Wiesel is a member of UoPeople’s President’s Council. He is Chair of the Board of Governors of the Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology in Japan and is President Emeritus of The Rockefeller University. In 1981 Dr. Wiesel shared the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine with David Hubel for their discoveries concerning information processing in the visual system. Dr. Wiesel is also a recipient of the 2005 U.S. National Medal of Science.

 

From 1973 to 1982, Dr. Wiesel served as Chair of the Department of Neurobiology at Harvard Medical School. In 1983, he was named the Vincent and Brooke Astor Professor and Head of the Laboratory of Neurobiology at The Rockefeller University. He was president of The Rockefeller University from 1991 to 1998. Since retiring as president of The Rockefeller University in 1998, he has turned his attention to international science advocacy and has devoted his efforts to programs for young scientists.

 

Dr. Wiesel has long served as chair of the scientific advisory committee of the Pew Scholars Program. He also helped initiate its Latin American Fellows Program in the Biomedical Sciences. He was chairman of the Board of Governors of the New York Academy of Sciences from 2000 to 2006. From 2000-2009, Dr. Wiesel served as secretary general of the Human Frontier Science Program, established to support international, innovative and interdisciplinary basic research in the life sciences.

 

Dr. Wiesel has also done much work as a global human rights advocate. He is a founding member of the International Human Rights Network of Academies and Scholarly Societies. In 2005 he received the David Rall Medal from the Institute of Medicine for his service from 1994-2004 as chair of the Committee on Human Rights at the National Academies of Sciences.

 

Dr. Wiesel is currently co-director of the Shelby White and Leon Levy Center for Mind, Brain and Behavior at The Rockefeller University, and on the board of the Hospital for Special Surgery. As visiting professor of the Karolinska Institute since 2009, he is also advisor to the Young Academy of Sweden. He continues to serve as advisor to research institutes in China, India, Brazil, Italy, and the United States, mainly helping to create opportunities for young scientists to carry out independent research.

SEE WHAT UOPEOPLE CAN DO FOR YOU!