قدم طلبك الآن

الرئيس الفخري ستيفن جويل تراختينبرغ  

الرئيس الفخري ستيفن جويل تراختينبرغ  

جامعة جورج واشنطن 

 

الرئيس الفخري ستيفن جويل تراختينبرغ هو عضو في مجلس رئاسة جامعة UoPeople. وهو رئيس فخري وأستاذ الخدمة العامة في جامعة جورج واشنطن. شغل منصب الرئيس الخامس عشر لجامعة جورج واشنطن بين عامي 1988 و2007. قدم تراختينبرغ إلى جامعة جورج واشنطن من جامعة هارتفورد التي كان رئيسها مدة أحد عشر عاما. وكان كذلك نائبا للرئيس للخدمات الأكاديمية والعميد الأكاديمي لكلية العلوم الإنسانية في جامعة بوسطن، ومساعدا خاصا لمفوض التعليم الأمريكي، ووزارة الصحة والتعليم والرعاية الاجتماعية. 

 

إن تراختينبرغ عضو في مجلس العلاقات الخارجية وجمعية فاي بيتا كابا (Phi Beta Kappa). وهو عضو في مجلس إدارة مؤسسة بانكنتر في مدريد ومؤسسة ديتشلي الأمريكية. كما أنه زميل في مؤسسة بار الأمريكية والأكاديمية الأمريكية للفنون والعلوم والأكاديمية الوطنية للإدارة العامة. ترأس تراختينبرغ لجنة اختيار المنح الدراسية في رودس في ولاية ماريلاند ومنطقة كولومبيا. 

 

نشر تراختينبرغ خمسة كتب هي: “الرجل الكبير في الحرم الجامعي: رئيس جامعة يتحدث عن التعليم العالي” نشرته مطبعة (Simon and Schuster’s Touchstone)، و”اكتب لي رسالة: خفة دم وحكمة ستيفن جويل تراختينبرغ“، و”تأملات في التعليم العالي”، و”التفكير بصوت عالٍ: عقد من الأفكار حول التعليم العالي” وكتاب “يتحدث عن رأيه: خمس سنوات من التعليق على التعليم العالي.” وهو محرر مشارك لكتابين هما: فن التوظيف في الكليات والجامعات الأمريكية” و”رسائل إلى الرئيس التالي” نشرهما معهد كورن / فيري. يعمل حاليا على كتاب بعنوان مبدئي “لماذا فشلوا” حول رؤساء الجامعات الذين حادوا عن المسار. 

 

كان تراختينبرغ ضمن الفريق الانتقالي لعمدة واشنطن العاصمة فينسنت غراي. وقد عمل في العديد من المجالس مثل غرفة تجارة العاصمة، التي ترأسها، والمجلس الوطني للتجارة ومجلس المدينة الفيدرالي. كان عضوا في مجلس إدارة شركة لوكتايت (Loctite Corporation)، وشركة إم إن سي (MNC) وبنك ريغز (Riggs Bank).  

 

حصل تراختينبرغ على درجة البكالوريوس في الآداب من جامعة كولومبيا، ودرجة دكتور في فقه القانون من جامعة ييل، ودرجة الماجستير في الإدارة العامة من جامعة هارفارد. يحمل بالإضافة إلى ذلك أكثر من عشرين درجة دكتوراه فخرية، بما في ذلك دكتوراه في القانون من جامعته التي درس فيها سابقا، جامعة كولومبيا. إن لدى تراختينبرغ وزوجته فرانسين زورن تراختينبرغ ولدان هما: آدم و بِن.

Apply

President Emeritus Stephen Joel Trachtenberg

By: UoPeople Outreach, 
December 24, 2015

George Washington University

President Emeritus Stephen Joel Trachtenberg is a member of UoPeople’s President’s Council. He is President Emeritus and University Professor of Public Service at The George Washington University. He served as GW’s 15th president from 1988 to 2007. Trachtenberg came to GW from the University of Hartford, where he was president for 11 years. He also had been vice president for academic services and academic dean of the College of Liberal Arts at Boston University, and was the special assistant to the U.S. Education Commissioner, Department of Health, Education and Welfare.

 

Trachtenberg is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and Phi Beta Kappa. He is on the Board of the Bankinter Foundation in Madrid and the American Ditchley Foundation. He is a Fellow of the American Bar Foundation, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Public Administration. Trachtenberg chaired the Rhodes Scholarships Selection Committee for Maryland and the District of Columbia.

 

Trachtenberg has published five books: BMOC: A University President Speaks Out on Higher Education published by Simon and Schuster’s Touchstone Press; Write Me A Letter: The Wit and Wisdom of Stephen Joel Trachtenberg; Reflections on Higher Education; Thinking Out Loud: A Decade of Thoughts on Higher Education; and Speaking His Mind: Five Years of Commentary on Higher Education.. He is co-editor of two books: The Art of Hiring in America’s Colleges & Universities and Letters to the Next President, published by The Korn/Ferry Institute. He is currently working on a book tentatively titled, Why They Failed about university presidents who went off the rails.

 

Trachtenberg was on DC Mayor Vincent Gray’s Transition team. He has served on numerous boards such as the DC Chamber of Commerce, which he chaired, the National Board of Trade and the Federal City Council. He was a member of the Board of the Loctite Corporation, MNC and Riggs Bank.

 

Trachtenberg earned a Bachelor of Arts degree from Columbia University, a Juris Doctor from Yale University, and a Master of Public Administration degree from Harvard University. In addition, he holds more than 20 honorary doctoral degrees, including a Doctor of Laws from his alma mater, Columbia University. Trachtenberg and his wife, Francine Zorn Trachtenberg, have two sons: Adam and Ben.

SEE WHAT UOPEOPLE CAN DO FOR YOU!